Coffee Freshness System

Want to talk espresso but not sure which forum? If so, this is the right one.
wpK

#1: Post by wpK »

Hi everyone,

I haven't seen any new posts about the Coffee Freshness System (http://coffeefreshness.com/) in awhile. How is everyone liking it so far?

Right now I'm vacuum sealing in mason jars and freezing my beans. I'm considering switching to this.

I know one member here that modified the container to be opaque so no light would get in.

Past discussions:
Seeking feedback on Coffee Freshness System prototype
Coffee Freshness System

OldNuc

#2: Post by OldNuc »

I have been using the CFS for about 2 years with no issues regarding maintaining coffee freshness. I have not made any specific attempts to excluded ambient light from the system but I do have it located so it is never exposed to direct sunlight. I suspect the avoidance of direct sunlight is a good idea. As to gas consumption I have the system setup to run from 20 pound CO2 cylinders and these are lasting me 92-95 days with 6-9 open-close cycles/day. The CFS has proved to be a simpler and higher performing storage system than the freezing-refrigerating small batch approach I was previously using.

redbone

#3: Post by redbone »

I tend to buy smaller size bags that get used within 2 weeks.
For any larger purchases I use AirScape canisters.
Although they don't displace the ambient air with another source, they do allow for venting of CO2 and minimize air and space in can.

Between order and chaos there is espresso.
Semper discens.

Rob
LMWDP #549

sprin001

#4: Post by sprin001 »

I've gone to the airscape containers as well. I just buy 1-1.5lb at a time. I've not had good luck or thought it worth the hassle to do 5lb and freeze yet. If I happen to buy a vacuum sealer, I'd try it.

jesse

#5: Post by jesse »