La Pavoni Europiccola v2.3, piston and chrome questions

Equipment doesn't work? Troubleshooting? If you're handy, members can help.
doelauw

#1: Post by doelauw »

Hi all,

First post. I have to start with saying "thanks". Used many of your topics to learn the all about La Pavoni machines. I'm new to espresso making but not new to coffee, been brewing some time. I like my coffee slow, manual ... no need to explain why I got myself a europiccola.

So I found this machine, a version 2.3. Initially looked pretty good on some chrome chipping a side. Now I've take apart the whole machine, except removing the boiler from the base. Cleaned and rinsed. Rubbers were dull, specially the piston rubbers! Machine is not too bad but concerned about two things, chrome and piston quality. On both I was unable to find a solid answer on my own.

Piston damage
The pison looks to have a dent in the head's corner. My guess would be that this will not impact the operation.

Also the top plate of the piston looks not brass, haven't seen this kind of pison on other restoration projects.

Chrome
At the head where the lever crossed the chrome broke a bit. I can see the brass behind it. Would anyone have a tip to either fix it or change of losing more in this area?

Now waiting for a service kit to arrive!

redbone

#2: Post by redbone »

That piston does look a bit odd. Luckily La Pavoni pistons are fairly inexpensive and readily available new or used.
As for the chrome group I find it hard to see the damage in question due to the glare.
Can you point to the issue or take a photo from another perspective or angle minimizing light refection.
Between order and chaos there is espresso.
Semper discens.

Rob
LMWDP #549

doelauw (original poster)

#3: Post by doelauw (original poster) »

Here are more details.