Water fill causes relief valve to shoot out water

Equipment doesn't work? Troubleshooting? If you're handy, members can help.
robdmngz

#1: Post by robdmngz »

I have a La San Marco 85 16M . When I press the fill valve water shoots out of the pressure relief valve. Any ideas what could be wrong?

gor

#2: Post by gor »

Your boiler is full of water

robdmngz (original poster)

#3: Post by robdmngz (original poster) »

How do I fix that? I'm new to this so trying to learn

gor

#4: Post by gor »

Have you been pressing the manual fill lever in order to maintain the right water level in the boiler? Have you over time, pressed it too often that you eventually filled the boiler full?

A few things need to be known about how you operate your machine, before a correct diagnosis and solution can be offered.

The water coming out of the over pressure valve usually means your boiler is full. Maybe you pressed the fill lever too much. If it was the first time you pressed it, then the boiler was full beforehand.

The level in the boiler is controlled by the auto fill circuit. Check the probe and that it isn't covered over with crusty scum. Otherwise if it happened to creep up overtime, then it points to a slow leak past the fill solenoid.

Let us know how you use it. Maybe it's a 'new to you' used machine. If that's the case you bought it with this problem.

It can be fixed.

#5: Post by robdmngz (original poster) »

As you may guess I am new to this. The machine is at work. It is hardly ever used. A couple of weeks ago I went to use it and noticed it was leaking water.
The vacuum valve stem was down and leaking water.
I shut the water off and ordered a new one.
After I installed it I went to the machine. I turned it on and when I operate the hot water lever, I only get a small amount of water and then the little piston on the vacuum stem goes down and water leaks. If I press on the water fill lever it pops right up and water shoots from the pressure valve.