Suddenly the milk does not steam well. Why?

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
Kathiccino

#1: Post by Kathiccino »

Hello, Ive been working as a barista for 6 years, and also have my own equipment at home for 10 years, but through the years , very rarely, Ive got milk that is impossible to steam!
And it could seem like a stupid excuse for not "know how to", but Im a professional, and been working at some of the best coffee bars in Stockholm , and learned from the best. I can steam milk perfectly in my sleep...
And this also happened when Ive been at work, and none of the colleagues and not even the boss can make the milk steamed the normal way, whatever you do, it will behave strange, get big bubbles, that breaks and the milk gets thin and in a skinny consistence....so we had to serve the consumers bad coffee drinks with milk the whole day...
I have also experienced to be a customer, and the barista in the cafe, explains to me that the milk does not "work" that day..
I have heard different explanations to this problem, but never got a sure, good answer. Some of my earlier bosses have said that it is because of the farmer have changed the food for their cows, and some have told me its because of that the animals have got some medicine...hm...
Does someone here really know the REAL reason for this strange problem?..
I had this problem with the milk the last two days, and its really frustrating...I want to make my perfect morning cappuccino.... :(

Katta

CorvusDoug

#2: Post by CorvusDoug »

Hi Katta,