Hario V60 and Eureka Mignon: slow and over-extraction due to fines ?

Coffee preparation techniques besides espresso like pourover.
BlackCat

#1: Post by BlackCat »

Hi all :D

I'm drinking espresso since one year, but I'm new to pour-over brewing. I manage to get decent results with a V60 using my Eureka Mignon, but it's still slightly bitter and lacking of acidity / fruits notes to my taste. I'm comparing with a V60 I tasted in the specialty coffee shop in which I bought the beans.

The point is that I have difficulties to finish my extractions before 3 minutes, even for one cup, and with different grinder settings. Currently I'm using 12g of coffee for 200ml of water. I get the first 150ml in roughly 2 or 2.5 minutes, and the last 30ml takes a lot of time to go through the filter. I made an interesting test: I extracted these last 30ml in a separated cup and realized it was very bitter. The beginning of the extraction was OK. I'm wondering if the Eureka Mignon (which is probably more appropriate to espresso than filter) just produces too much fines that block the filter at the end of the brewing and leads to over-extraction ? Is it a good techniques to stop the extraction before all water falls in the cup ?

Also, even though changing the grind size does not seems to improve, does someone has a reference setting for V60 with this grinder, in comparison with a typical espresso setting ?

Thank you very much for your advices !

PS: This is my first post here and I'm not a native english speaker so I apologize in case my post is not very clear.

DeGaulle

#2: Post by DeGaulle »

I have a Macap M2M grinder that is similar to the Mignon in terms of burr diameter and I have the same experience. What you could try is to sieve the fines out before you dose the ground coffee into the filter. This kind of grinder can typically cover the full range from espresso to French press, but it does produce fines at all grind settings and is really best suited for espresso.
Bert