Elektra Microcasa a Leva tripping GFCI

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
bleblanc03

#1: Post by bleblanc03 »

I replaced the seals on my 1985 Elektra Microcasa Leva and rebuilt it with the electronics *exactly* how they were beforehand, but now the instant I close the power switch the GFCI trips.

So, apparently I didn't put 'em back together exactly the same...but I can't see how not.

This was not happening before I unwired the machine and replaced the seals. It is plugged into the same outlet as it has been - running every day - for the past 5 months.

I am not an electrical engineer, but I can troubleshoot if anyone has the expertise and is willing to try to help me. Please? I really miss my morning espresso.

La macchina:

Wiring before:

Wiring now:

-Beau LeBlanc

DJF

#2: Post by DJF »

This is a 1991 but double check the wiring in the bottom pics of this link. Some pics of yours might help too. It's more than likely something simple but could be the element shorting out or failing. It could also be the on/off switch. MAKE SURE THE POWER IS DISCONNECTED WHEN FIDDLING UNDERNEATH!

Did I mention turning the power off when working on the machine :shock: ?
http://www.francescoceccarelli.eu/Macch ... 91_eng.htm
"24 hours in a day, 24 beers in a case. Coincidence? I don't think so."

Advertisement
bleblanc03 (original poster)

#3: Post by bleblanc03 (original poster) »

You did mention. Thank you for making sure. I wasn't going to do that, but I understand liability precautions pretty well.

As you may see, I edited my original posting to include photos of machine for ID, wiring before, and wiring now.

I tried swapping some points in my current path - without breaking the loop - to no avail.

My switch is fine...I've actually just finished replacing the burnt spade on the white power lead. I've checked inside the switch, where I found usual burning for a high-power device, but nothing out of place.