High Altitude Roasting; how it differs from Roasting at Sea Level

Want to talk espresso but not sure which forum? If so, this is the right one.
Ken Fox

#1: Post by Ken Fox »

I've only roasted at altitude; I have zero experience roasting at sea level. My house is at around 5850 feet of elevation (~1900m).

Based upon my own experience, in contrast to what I have read on the internet, it is my impression that coffee does not roast at altitude the way that it roasts at sea level. I believe that my roasting experience is different than I would have at sea level, but I do not know in what way or why (other than presumably the reduced oxygen content of our air, and the lowered atmospheric pressure). My own observation is that the cracks occur at higher temperatures (measured by a bean mass TC) than what I read posted by people who roast at sea level. It could be, however, that this is just a function of where my bean mass TC is located within the particular drum I roast in.

Bernie Digman's cafe and roasting business is in Las Cruces, NM, which appears to be at around 4000 feet of elevation. I'm not sure if that is high enough to effect roasting, but I'm sure that Bernie knows the answer.

I was curious to know if anyone knows how altitude effects the roasting process, in observable ways such as the temperatures that the cracks occur, etc. Obviously, gases combust differently at altitude and that does effect the heat source when one is roasting with gas (as I do) however that isn't really what I'm getting at; I'm interested in the bean roasting process itself.

Does anyone have any useful observations? I'm not interested in theories or regurgitation of unsubstantiated stuff that may have been written or posted before, rather I'm interested in provable facts.

Thanks,

ken
What, me worry?

Alfred E. Neuman, 1955

another_jim
Team HB

#2: Post by another_jim »

You are probably right; it is certainly true of all other baking and roasting.