Offer my services as an "Espresso Consultant"?

Want to talk espresso but not sure which forum? If so, this is the right one.
mattaz

#1: Post by mattaz »

I'm working on a blog that reviews cafe's espressos in the town that I go to school in (Guelph, Ontario). So far, I've been quite disappointed.

I just finished reviewing a shop that specializes in smoothies, juices, etc. but was touted as having an amazing espresso. I visited a few times, but his espresso was quite bad. It occurred to me though, should I offer my services (for free) as an espresso consultant of sorts? I'm no expert, but I can easily offer him a few tips to improve his product. The owner/operator is a really nice guy and I want to help him out.

For example: the pours were 3-4oz, took about 8 seconds each (ie the "Blond Gusher"), very sour and thin. The owner grinds/fills his doser in the morning and uses these "pre-ground" beans to order. He orders his beans 1-2 times a month.

Has anyone done anything like this before?

Chert

#2: Post by Chert »

I don't think I am the only espresso fiend who laments the quality and especially at their local scene wish there were a way to improve it.

see this link:Techniques for raising the bar on local espresso bar quality?

I am sure there are others.
LMWDP #198

another_jim
Team HB

#3: Post by another_jim »

Here's a simple rule: When your advice is unsolicited, you are a reviewer; when it is solicited, you are a consultant.

Once people ask you to rate their espresso; either because of your reputation, or because they are reaching out to check their quality, then you can give advice. Until then, review the local espresso in your blog, and build your reputation among its readers.
Jim Schulman

mattaz (original poster)

#4: Post by mattaz (original poster) »

another_jim wrote:Here's a simple rule: When your advice is unsolicited, you are a reviewer; when it is solicited, you are a consultant.