VST tamper? How did I miss this?? - Page 2

Want to talk espresso but not sure which forum? If so, this is the right one.
Anvan

#11: Post by Anvan »

So far as I understand, the VST is otherwise the same as a model you can order from Pullman. It will almost certainly be faster, easier and likely less expensive all told to order from VST. Pullman, however, has a great variety of styles, materials and colors, whereas the VST is, sensibly enough, standardized on one popular model.

Randy G.

#12: Post by Randy G. »

It's funny, this thread. Made me become momentarily introspective (HEY! It happens!). We all have our "Jones" (or "Joneses") with which to deal. Some have their cups and others their tampers. Until the Espro tamper arrived for review purposes I had been using a one-piece aluminum tamper for around eight or nine years. First it served my needs with Silvia then later with my Vibiemme. While I had been tempted to purchase a Reg Barber tamper at times, I never could bring myself to spend that much on that tool, as beautiful of a temptress as she was, while the aluminum one had served so well. "It's just a tamper." Sure I kept saying that.

The Espro click is a very good fit for my hand. The thirty-pound click is of no real value to me on a day-to-day basis, but this tamper has become my favorite. Sure, it's only a choice between two, but the mass and shape of the Espro just feels good. So as I read this thread I first thought, "How much for a tamper? IT'S A TAMPER! Just a tamper! One hundred and seventy dollars?!" But I quickly regained my senses when I realized that I had a collection of over 170 books on the American Civil War and have bought over a dozen Pendelton shirts at the thrift store over the last few years...

I read my books, I wear my Pendeltons, and you use your tampers. Next "Jones" in the queue please step forward.
EspressoMyEspresso.com - 2000-2023 - a good run, its time is done

Advertisement
spiffdude

#13: Post by spiffdude »