Positive pressure, PID Pavoni: world domination begins

A haven dedicated to manual espresso machine aficionados.
matadero210

#1: Post by matadero210 »

All,

I'd like to share my first Pavoni mod. I started with a pre-M europiccola and drilled the heater/base to include ports for TC and water inlet (1/8" npt). The whole is mounted on an oak base with PID controller, power switch, and steam override switch.

From the back you can see the stainless flex tube that connects to my kitchen faucet.

I'm just learning about how this works, but the first shots were very nice. The water supply is regulated to 20psi, so I can leave the water connected and pull shot after shot. It takes <1min to stabilize temp after each shot (and the cold water admission). 20psi is on the edge of too rough for pre-infusion, so I can also close the water inlet valve and do a more gentle pre-infusion (I monitor this with a bottomless PF). The TC is t-type (mcmaster.com) and the PID (which comes with internal 10A relay) is from auberins.com. More details to follow (once I stop shaking from caffeinosis) after I master use of the machine.

share and enjoy,
raj

PaulTheRoaster

#2: Post by PaulTheRoaster »

Awesome. Did you come up with some kind of expansion valve for when the cold water comes up to boiler temp? Wouldn't want the thing to explode.

matadero210 (original poster)

#3: Post by matadero210 (original poster) »

Yup,

I also relieve excess pressure while flushing/heating the head.

I use a commercial anti-hammer assy first, but a simple expansion tank seemed better.

r

Javier

#4: Post by Javier »

Raj,

Oh man, that is impressive. Very ingenious.