Your Ideal Espresso Machine Specs

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
7dbeckham23

#1: Post by 7dbeckham23 »

Hey espresso lovers!

I'm currently an engineering student and since I love espresso I decided to embark on a journey to make my very own espresso machine. As I know all of you here love your espresso's and are much more knowledgeable in this field than I am, it would be awesome if some of you could share what makes an ideal espresso machine for you.

The amount of power that you would like it to draw for the boiler and the type of insulation that makes a great espresso are some of the things I'm really unfamiliar with.

Thanks for all your knowledge, I would love to hear from all of you!

Bluecold

#2: Post by Bluecold »

Ideal operating procedure:
* walk up to the machine
* get delicious espresso

No waste, no energy usage as well. Also very compact.
LMWDP #232
"Though I Fly Through the Valley of Death I Shall Fear No Evil For I am at 80,000 Feet and Climbing."

FirstBetta

#3: Post by FirstBetta »

List of specs for ideal espresso machine:

SS frame and covers
Dual SS Boilers with HX tube from 2 liter steam boiler feeding .5 liter brew boiler
Rotary pressure adjustable pump or lever actuated group
Brew pressure gauge and Steam pressure gauge with correct ergonomic location
SS heavy group
SS heavy Portafilter
Steam pressure gauge
Brew pressure gauge
Flow variable joystick Steam and Hot water controls
Ball joint mounts for steam and hot water outlets
Heated group
PID control of group and both boilers temp with data visible (no plug in indicator)
Shot timer
Reservoir and ability to Plumb
Reservoir accessible from either side or rear for filling or front filling w/o opening top of cover
Tank water level visible from front of machine
> 1 liter easy to clean drip tray (minimal nooks and crannies)
Auto on by timer
Ability to set for auto extraction