Which water filter/softener to get?

Water analysis, treatment, and mineral recipes for optimum taste and equipment health.
erik996

#1: Post by erik996 »

I have a direct plumb kit on the way for my Valentina, and it connects directly to the machine (not a float type system in the reservoir) and I want to get a filter/softener for it. This kit runs from my cold water supply and isn't pump driven. What flow rate capability do I need to get (I see 1/2gpm to 1-2/3gpm at EPNW and up to 2.5gpm on other sites)? Do I need one with a reservoir or some kind of capacity or will an in-line filter be fine?

I was thinking something like http://www.espressoparts.com/2014

Are there any favorites out there?

cruzmisl

#2: Post by cruzmisl »

I am not an expert by any stretch but I'll throw my 2 cents in anyway. First, try and stay away from proprietary filters. They are really expensive. Mock up your own filter at wateranywhere.com. May cost $30 or so with fittings and filter.

As far as the softener goes you need to know the hardness/tds of your current tap water. Mine is slightly hard and my softener brings the calcium hardness down to 10ppm (tap is 80ppm) which may be a bit low for the best flavor but very safe for my machine. I plan on installing a "T" to try and customize the water if I can.

Other option is an RO system and a filter to add some minerals back in or mix with tap.

Not familiar with your machine but to ensure the pump doesn't cavitate on boiler refills you should install a holding tank. My T1 was having issues with low flow and it solved it nicely.

Advertisement
zin1953

#3: Post by zin1953 »

Joe is right about proprietary systems . . . I use this
A morning without coffee is sleep. -- Anon.

erik996 (original poster)

#4: Post by erik996 (original poster) »