Water Quality Issue - High pH

Water analysis, treatment, and mineral recipes for optimum taste and equipment health.
robertw

#1: Post by robertw »

Hi first time poster here.

I'm thinking about buying my first espresso machine and I need some help. A little about my coffee background. I mostly drink drip coffee using Hario V60 coffee dripper. On espresso, I occasionally make it during weekend using a little device called Mypressi (or Twister?). It is like a steel ball with a handle and you insert an air cartridge inside the handle. Believe it or not, I've been using it for >5 yrs before it finally gave out last year. Then, I found out no one is selling it no more, ha. So any double boiler machine will be a big upgrade for me. I roast my own beans using Behmor for years. I have a Baratz Vario-W grinder.

I'm looking to buy a double boiler machine. One big question I have is whether it should be a plumbed in machine or not. Here is my water test results:

Chlorine: 2-3 ppm chloramine
KH (alkalinity): ~150ppm
GH (hardness): practically zero (using three different test kits)
PH: 8.7
TDS: ~200ppm (less confident)

Chlorine(carbon filter), KH, GH and TDS seem fine. The problem is high PH. Most coffee water standard say PH should be in the 6.5-7.5 range. I have not been able to find exactly what high PH would do to espresso drinks. Of course, what do I know knowing I've been making espresso using Mypressi. Does this high PH issue pretty much kill the plumb-in option?

With a machine, the most espresso drinks I will make is 2 during weekdays and 2-4 during weekend. Is plumb-in necessary? Even with a reservoir machine, the PH question is still relevant as I may need to drop the PH by mixing our city water w/ bottle water(if high PH is really killing espresso drink). So far from reading posts in the forum, I like Lucca M58 and Pro 700 for plumb in machines and Pro 300 and S1 mini Vivaldi for reservoir machines.

Thank in advance for your help.

spressomon