Vibiemme Domobar Super - sudden pressure drops / pump noise change during shots

Equipment doesn't work? Troubleshooting? If you're handy, members can help.
Bex

#1: Post by Bex »

Hi all.

I've been enjoying my VBM Domobar Super for several months now, but this weekend encountered a problem.

Sometimes during a shot the vibe pump's noise will drop dramatically and the pressure will drop from 10 bar to around 7.5. The shot continues to pour and looks normal.

This doesn't happen every time, but if I pull 3 shots, it's guaranteed that one of them will exhibit this behavior.

Any idea what's going wrong? I have no idea if it's related, but the hose that joins the top of the reservoir has started trying to slide out of its slot. When I open the lid to refill the reservoir, it's never snugly in its slot.

Randy G.

#2: Post by Randy G. »

This can happen if there is an additional load on the electrical circuit such as a large light, refrigerator, heater, air conditioner, etc. or if an extension cord that is too long or of insufficient gage. Use a volt meter and monitor the line voltage so that when it happens you can check. Also watch to see if it happens only when the heating element comes on. In combination, the extra current draw will create this sort of situation.
EspressoMyEspresso.com - 2000-2023 - a good run, its time is done

Advertisement
cafeIKE

#3: Post by cafeIKE »

If you're handy, UNPLUG the machine, pull off the side cover and check all connections, including the screw terminals to the Gicar. Give each Fast-On a good wiggle and make sure it is fully seated. Look for any overly brown insulators indicating high temperature from a bad crimp. Replace any connectors that look 'fried.'

Several months ago, when the machine was 18 months old, my Vibiemme started the same behavior. No bad connections were found, but the the problem vanished. 8)

another_jim
Team HB

#4: Post by another_jim »