Vibiemme Domobar: keeps heating until steam comes from OPV

Equipment doesn't work? Troubleshooting? If you're handy, members can help.
mamxs

#1: Post by mamxs »

Hi all,

I've been using a (somewhat older) Vibiemme Domobar for a few months now, but last week it stopped working because the heating element broke down. This caused the machine to blow my electrical fuses when trying turning it on.

So I cleaned the whole machine: grouphead, boiler, pump and tubing etc. Then I replaced the heating element and corresponding nylon ring, the thermostat, the pump hose to the boiler and all the flexible tubing. After these replacements it turned back on again nicely, but it doesn't seem to stop heating. After a while the OPV puts out more and more steam through the backflow tube to the reservoir and I am forced to shut down the machine.

So the things I think I ruled out by now:
- the pump
- the thermostat (replaced), I've turned the screw completely counter clockwards to set it to the lowest temperature
- the heating element (replaced)

Does anyone have an idea what I can do?

Randy G.

#2: Post by Randy G. »

[deleted by author - wrong model]
EspressoMyEspresso.com - 2000-2023 - a good run, its time is done

another_jim
Team HB

#3: Post by another_jim »

I think this is about the single boiler machine (i.e. not a Super Domobar) with the vapor bulb thermostat.

If that is right, then most likely you hardwired the heaters, bypassing 1) the vapor bulb brew thermostat (or the surface steam thermostat), and 2) the safety thermostat, so that the boiler pressure is exceeding 9 bar or 175C.

It could also be that both the vapor bulb and the safety stat are messed up. In that case the heat should switch off if you go to steam mode.
Jim Schulman

mamxs (original poster)

#4: Post by mamxs (original poster) »

Thanks for the quick replies, this is indeed about the single boiler machine (and not the 'Super' machine).

Another_jim: