Used Rancilio Silvia, can somebody offer insight/tips?

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
robertcoffsteen

#1: Post by robertcoffsteen »

Hi all,

Long time lurker but first time poster, as I finally "inherited" (eg from a friend of a friend) a Silvia. This is my first real machine, and I studied this forum, lots of videos and am getting a decent shot from it even though I have a Baratza Encore (which I previously used for aeropress, etc). I wanted to ask a few questions to get myself prepped for this brave new world.

1. Can anyone tell me how to identify *which* Silvia it is? I have a picture, here:

2. Can anyone identify this weird old portafilter, and tell me more about it? Should I move to a double one, or a bottomless (I was reading that those might not be best for beginners) or any other kind? I'm not even sure if its pressurized or not, but its unlike the portafilters I've seen with newer Rancilios.

3. Are there any things I should immediately check for on an older machine to make sure its in top working order?

4. If I really jump from an Encore to a Preciso (or Vario) will that make a tremendous difference in my shots?

Thanks again for all the help, guys and gals!

Robbie

Advertisement
Compass Coffee

#2: Post by Compass Coffee »

Standard size portafilter but have no idea what size portafilter basket since didn't show a picture of that side! The detached brass piece appears to be a pressurized cheater attachment. Check out the How-Tos section for proper cleaning procedures etc. When I started my home espresso Journey many moons ago, also with Miss Silvia, I had the same Encore grinder (its predecessor) and fought it for 6 months. You will definitely hugely benefit from a better grinder.
Mike McGinness

crazy4espresso

#3: Post by crazy4espresso »

Welcome.
The machine appears to be a V2. Underneath the drip tray there should be a sticker with the manufacture date.