US and Europe wiring standards what color is which wire?

Equipment doesn't work? Troubleshooting? If you're handy, members can help.
cannonfodder
Team HB

#1: Post by cannonfodder »

I need a quick hand. My new Elektra A3 arrived today. It is all hooked up with one exception, the plug. To my surprise, there was no plug on the power line, just bare wire so I had to run out and get a plug.

Now for the problem. I have a green/yellow-blue-brown wire on the Elektra. The green/yellow is ground, but I am use to black and white, which one corresponds to the blue and brown?
Dave Stephens

HB
Admin

#2: Post by HB »

From Wiring for La San Marco 85 series:
HB wrote:I'm not an electrician and have never installed non-US 220V equipment. That of course doesn't stop me from searching the Internet a bit (e.g., "standard wiring colors us"). One of my recent favorite references, the Wikipedia, has this to say about electrical wiring in the UK:

No easy answer, eh? It does include a table of the insulation color coding; its links led me to this very nice drawing from the Electrician's Guide, 4.6.2 - Identification of fixed wiring conductors. In case you haven't had enough of insulation color coding, the tables in Wire Color Coding covered both US and UK. Despite the online reference, my advice is to ask a technician at your friendly espresso equipment repair center of your choice.
Somebody has added a nice reference table since I last looked:
                        Pre-2004 IEE    Current IEC
Protective earth (PE)   Green or black  Green/yellow striped
Neutral (N)             Black           Blue
Single phase: Live (L)
Three phase: L1         Red             Brown
Three phase: L2         Yellow          Black
Three phase: L3         Blue            Grey
Dan Kehn

cannonfodder (original poster)
Team HB

#3: Post by cannonfodder (original poster) »

Found it, Commercial Coding for AC Wiring from Reference & Information Wire Color Coding

115/240v 60Hz