Up close and personal with the Slayer!

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
brokemusician77

#1: Post by brokemusician77 »

I'm on tour this week, and on my way through Calgary I popped in to Fratello's to check out their Slayer. I'm a relative newbie, but I've heard/read about the Slayer and thought I'd check it out for myself.

First of all, I didn't realize that Fratello is a roasting company, and not a cafe. Although they have a full espresso bar, they don't sell drinks there. The bar is there for barista training and demonstrations, I guess. When I got there, I asked a lady if I could have a Latte. She apologized and said there wasn't anyone there who could make me one, and that this wasn't really a cafe. I said that was okay, and asked if they had any pitchers she could recommend for pouring Latte art, which she did. While she rang in my purchase, I told her I was on tour and that I'd just driven 500km, and that I was hoping I could try some shots from the Slayer I'd read so much about. That changed everything.

A few minutes later, I was standing behind the bar with the guy who developed the whole thing. (Dan?) Even though I arrived right at closing time, he spent about half an hour with me explaining the various features of the machine. He also pulled 4-5 shots for me, so I could taste what he meant.

The shots were unbelievable. (Especially to a newbie who's been struggling with stale beans, a Gaggia Baby, and a Virtuoso for six months). They went down like thick liquid silk, and I tasted peach and blueberry in spades. The shots were so smooth and so balanced. None of the bitter or sour flavors I've become accustomed to.

Although I didn't get to pull any shots, personally, he did let me play around with the paddle group, and opened the machine up, so I could see inside.