Trying to fit Eric thermocouple adapter on Cimbali M27

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
laythss

#1: Post by laythss »

Hello all,
commercial cimbali M27 selectron 2 group and i was trying to figure how to fit Erics thermocouple in it for a friend of mine who owns it, as you will see in the picture the regular screw in the front of the group head is not present, , the two small screw wholes in the top are cosmetic (they hold the grouphead cover and dont go all the way through)

the only area i can see a place to use a screw for such a purpose is the big screws at top of the group head. Is this where i should fir it?

I am not an expert about the mechanism of the group head hence i need your advice. the bigger screw when removed shows an empty chamber that only gets water when the grouphead is open (it is electrically controlled by a button) . the somewhat smaller screw was very tight that i did not try to mess around with it too much.

What are your thoughts?

Many thanks in advance.

Advertisement
erics
Supporter ★

#2: Post by erics »

What are your thoughts?
The thermometer is really designed for the exposed E-61 group and would not fit properly here. Yes, a thermocouple and adaptor might be fitted but my advice would be to set the maximum boiler pressure to around 0.90 bar and brew away.

BTW, this Cimbali has a Faema grouphead design. That small nut you were trying to remove, I believe, is the gicleur. That is one "heck of a machine" for home use.
Skål,

Eric S.
http://users.rcn.com/erics/
E-mail: erics at rcn dot com

laythss (original poster)

#3: Post by laythss (original poster) »

Ok months later reply,
Thanks Eric for the reply. this machine is actually in a coffee shop.
I thought the Faema and E-61 are the same. but i have a feeling i am wrong since the E-61 seems to always have that screw that leads to the group head channel where your thermocouple is supposed to go.