Rotary Pump, Yet Not Plumbed

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
MWM
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2011 10:54 am
Real Name: Mark
Equipment: Expobar Brewtus IV-R, Baratza Vario, 2 Krups Steamtoys
Location: Portland Maine

Postby MWM » Sat Jan 08, 2011 11:09 am

I somewhat suspect I'll get cooked for this but here goes:

OK, just ordered Brewtus IV for my office. Need a rotary pump because I need quietness. Can't plumb it in because, well, there's no water line anywhere nearby. I know some are running a rotary from a water container, and this will be a necessary evil for me for the foreseeable future. I understand that if I run it dry I'll fry the pump, maybe it wasn't designed to have zero line pressure, yada yada, please save those comments for someone else.

So now that I've framed it, here's the question: I'm a bit anxious to start using it and want to make a run to Home Depot and take a shot at having the right connections and bits from the get-go. The water in ME is very soft and so I'm not going to use any filters or conditioners for the water.

Can anyone give a description of what I need to buy there today? I'll probably punch a hole in a Poland Spring 5-gal container and run from that. Do I need a pump/accumulator too? Not sure if it's material to the question, but I'll have a tiny bit of line pressure because I have a sill a few feet up from the counter that I can put the water bottle on, giving a bit of gravity feed to the machine.

thanks in advance!

espresso machines, grinders, brewing equipment & parts
jarviscochrane
Posts: 149
Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2009 4:17 pm
Real Name: James
Equipment: Maximatic, Cremina, Sama Export, La Peppina
Location: Toronto

Postby jarviscochrane » Sat Jan 08, 2011 12:07 pm

You may find this helpful; Astoria Argenta AEP 2 Renewal

This describes a similar setup.

User avatar
erics
Posts: 4656
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 2:32 am
Real Name: Eric Svendson
Location: Silver Spring, MD

Postby erics » Sat Jan 08, 2011 12:39 pm

Here's another setup - simply used for testing a machine I was fiddling around with:

Image

I ASSUME that the Brewtus comes with a stainless braided hose and that the non-machine end of that hose is configured to seal onto a 3/8" pipe nipple. You should try to confirm this before heading out to the store. To me, a 5 gallon reservoir (~ 40 lbs) is pretty big and could put a strain on the elevated support structure.

Use brass nipples and adaptors and drill a plastic storage tank with a spade bit or, better yet, a Forstner bit. Install a shut-off ball valve at the reservoir.
Skål,

Eric S.
http://users.rcn.com/erics/
E-mail: erics at erols dot com

User avatar
sweaner
Posts: 1706
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2008 9:19 pm
Real Name: Scott Weaner
Equipment: Quickmill Vetrano, Arrarex Caravel, La Peppina, Bunn Trifecta MB, Lido 2 #79, Pharos #52!
Location: Yardley, PA

Postby sweaner » Sat Jan 08, 2011 3:07 pm

I simply have the braided line placed into a 1 gallon water container, right into the top opening. My machine runs fine.
Scott
LMWDP #248

Man does not live by coffee alone...we need beer too.

User avatar
cannonfodder
Team HB
Posts: 8069
Joined: Mon May 23, 2005 8:20 am
Real Name: Dave Stephens
Equipment: Elektra A3, Faema, Gaggia Lever, LaCimbali the list goes on...
Location: Downingtown PA

Postby cannonfodder » Sun Jan 09, 2011 1:00 am

Just get a 5 gallon water jug, fill it with water and drop the pump line in. It will work just fine. Just adjust your pump pressure for the static line.
Dave Stephens

MWM
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2011 10:54 am
Real Name: Mark
Equipment: Expobar Brewtus IV-R, Baratza Vario, 2 Krups Steamtoys
Location: Portland Maine

Postby MWM » Sun Jan 09, 2011 8:41 am

Sounds like, (as a native here would say), "wicked easy dude."

How about when you take away the jug to refill it -- what do you do with the braided intake line? I'd be afraid of introducing air by setting it down on the counter while I fetch water. No worries?

User avatar
HB
Posts: 14657
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2005 9:13 pm
Real Name: Dan Kehn
Equipment: La Marzocco Strada, Elektra Microcasa a Leva, Compak K10 WBC
Location: Cary, NC

Postby HB » Sun Jan 09, 2011 11:13 am

A ball check valve would prevent air from being introduced into the line. They're available at your local plumbing supply.
Dan Kehn

User avatar
erics
Posts: 4656
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 2:32 am
Real Name: Eric Svendson
Location: Silver Spring, MD

Postby erics » Sun Jan 09, 2011 3:24 pm

MWM wrote: Do I need a pump/accumulator too?

If you ever get a chance to "peek under the skirts" of the numerous display tables at coffee show expositions, I would ASSUME that this is exactly what you would see. A Flojet pump, 2-gallon accumulator, and various fittings should be AROUND $200.

Your best bet would be to ask your dealer for installation instructions and/or limitations for your machine - after all, they are the ones holding the warranty.
Skål,

Eric S.
http://users.rcn.com/erics/
E-mail: erics at erols dot com

User avatar
sweaner
Posts: 1706
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2008 9:19 pm
Real Name: Scott Weaner
Equipment: Quickmill Vetrano, Arrarex Caravel, La Peppina, Bunn Trifecta MB, Lido 2 #79, Pharos #52!
Location: Yardley, PA

Postby sweaner » Sun Jan 09, 2011 7:38 pm

MWM wrote:How about when you take away the jug to refill it -- what do you do with the braided intake line? I'd be afraid of introducing air by setting it down on the counter while I fetch water. No worries?


I keep a funnel in the bottle and simply pour water in.
Scott
LMWDP #248

Man does not live by coffee alone...we need beer too.

kjmonopoly7311
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 12:43 pm
Real Name: Kevin
Equipment: Current: Bunn ES1A and NS MDX ||| Past: Starbucks Buon Caffe, Gaggia Carezza, Baratza Maestro, MDF
Location: Memphis, TN

Postby kjmonopoly7311 » Wed Mar 23, 2011 4:52 pm

Hey there! First time poster on HB! Have spent dozens of hours reading. I'm struggling to find specifics, however, on exactly how to solve my problem.

Bringing this topic back up. So, I just acquired a Bunn ES1A as a bit of a project and have been tinkering with it, although I should admit that my tinkering abilities are novice.

So, upon picking it up and arriving at my parents home, I took the water inlet and hooked it up to a hose which I dropped in the bottom of a 3 gallon water jug, just to see what would happen. It worked! Bravo.

I then left my parents house and traveled home, where I set up the machine again in almost the exact same way. The only difference I can see is that the jug of water is about 10 inches below the level of the 'spro machine in the new setup, while at my parents house it was level with the machine.

The result: No fresh water being pumped/drawn into the boiler. It's not kinks. I tried lifting the jug up to the same level, but still no luck. Still no water being drawn in.


I've read about this before but am having trouble figuring out the next step. Don't want to do anything to the rotary pump.


Thank you!!