Rocket Giotto worked fine for 4 years, then just stopped!

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
Angelajohn

#1: Post by Angelajohn »

So I got my Rocket Giotto for Christmas in 2011, and it has worked fine for 4 years! But last year, before my son was born, it just stopped! I've ready a few threads about some tips (one gal said she strictly used bottled water and switched to tap and that fixed the issue) and i tried that but I haven't really tried because, I'm a novice with this thing and don't want to make things worse, anything else!

Basically, I can turn the machine on, I hear a click but the pump doesn't turn on with it, it won't build any pressure at all.

Someone help! We miss our delicious morning espresso!

LukeFlynn

#2: Post by LukeFlynn »

So, the pump isn't turning on when you engage brew with the lever? Are the boilers heating up? How is the steam boiler pressure (Should be 1-1.5 bars, higher is fine, this is just to verify heat). Is the machine not detecting water, IE, if it has an empty water light, is it on?

DanoM

#3: Post by DanoM »

Yeah, you're going to have to give us some status information from the machine. Do you have any indicator lights at all on the machine? On or off? The more info you can provide the more someone is likely to know what the issue is.

(I don't know the Giotto, but the manual says that if the light is flashing the water is low.)
LMWDP #445

homeburrero
Team HB

#4: Post by homeburrero »

DanoM wrote:Yeah, you're going to have to give us some status information from the machine.