Rancilio Silvia & Auber PID - Steam Control or No?

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
thefly

#1: Post by thefly »

Good morning,

I have been surfing this site and various others for a few months now - it has been extremely helpful in improving my techniques etc. I have recently purchased a Rancilio Silvia and Rocky. I am getting better at my dosing and tamping etc and am now looking at installing a PID.

The 2 models I am looking at are from Auber Instruments. One is the Delux model $149 and the other is the Delux model with steam control for $187.

http://auberins.com/index.php?main_page ... ucts_id=36
http://auberins.com/index.php?main_page ... ucts_id=58

I have done some various searches but I have no yet seen any descriptions on whether it is worth it to get the steam control. The only post I found on another forum seemed to indicate that the steam control isn't a separate PID control (not really sure what is meant by that).

My initial thought is that I would go without the steam control and just watch the temperature indicator to see when the light switched off. I would then know when to start my steam by just beginning a few degrees before the light is set to go off. Thoughts?

The reason I am looking at the Auber is twofold, (1) I like the style of it and how it seems to visually integrate with the machine and (2) is is less costly then others I have seen.

Thanks in advance for any thoughts on this.

TheJohnNewton

#2: Post by TheJohnNewton »

I have the the PID kit without the steam control. This PID kit is still very helpfull for steaming because you can always see the temp of the boiler even when you turn on the steam switch. I know if I start steaming when the temp gets to the high 260s I'll get maximum steam power. I guess what putting the PID on the steam side would do is you wouldn't have to pay as much attention after you turn on the steam switch to catch the sweet spot the PID would hold it for you.