Rancilio S26 restoration

Equipment doesn't work? Troubleshooting? If you're handy, members can help.
Tpg

#1: Post by Tpg »

Hello all :) Ive been visiting this forum for quite a few months now, so I thought id register and take the chance to finally be part of this community :D I just started out on my coffee journey, this is pretty much my second restoration project (first one is a Fiorenzato Ducale from 92 which is almost complete)

Anyways. this Rancilio also appears to be from 92(the pump is), even though im not 100% sure if its the S26, but its my best guess(the info label is unreadable)

I have never seen something as disgusting as this, even the stainless steel and the frame are totally... well its as if they were in a kitchen without air-ventilation for 10 years and never cleaned.

Things that I discovered when I tested the machine.

Steam comes out
Heating element works
Boiler pressure gauge works
Tea-water comes out
Solenoid works of the grouphead, grouphead just drips though.
Auto-fill works
Pump appears to be broken somehow, it makes a VERY low bzzzzz sound, there was a bit of limescale in the shaft and it turns pretty badly, will try again after a citric acid bath.

So, that is my progress after around 7 hours. Im having some trouble though, pretty simple things I guess.

Cant seem to remove the heating element from the boiler seal no matter what I try, is it wise to just put the whole thing in citric acid and be done with it? (even though the HX in there is stainless steel)

Any recommendations on the frame? Should I just paint it myself a nice black color or bring it to a company to do this (I never painted something so im pretty much an amateur hehe) But it has to be done since its very rusty.

Also, the boiler is stainless steel, normally citric acid is not such a good idea then, but what is your opinion about this? I could also get a brass wire to clean it, which is more work ^^