Profitec Pro 700, Steam Output

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
Javagerry

#1: Post by Javagerry »

I'm new to H-B and I've thoroughly enjoyed the opportunity to read and learn from others who share this "oh so noble calling"! Although I've seen occasional references to steam in other threads, a new thread may be the best way to get an answer to a steaming question that I have about my Profitec Pro 700. As a bit of background, it's a 115V 15A machine which I purchased in Canada last November. (For purposes of comparing it to other Pro 700 machines, it's the late 2014 version which has the stainless covers on the drip tray supports, a drain hole in the drip pan, and a 4 hole steam tip.)

When I first got the machine and as a first time user of a "real espresso machine", I was a bit overwhelmed by the quantity of steam that it produced, and I even considered installing a steam nozzle with fewer than the 4 holes that came with the machine. Fortunately I quickly learned to use and enjoy the vigorous steam output. Then after about 2 months of home use, the steam output dropped off significantly, and it was taking about 2 minutes to get 10 oz. of milk up to temperature. After removing the tip and then the entire steam wand, I found some brown sticky gunk in the threads of the fitting where the wand swivels, and some of it in the steam tip itself. I'm assuming that what I found was some "lube and sealant gunk" from the factory, but maybe someone out there is going to tell me that I was seeing milk which had made its way up the steam wand.