Plumbing in your espresso machine?

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
DucaiMann
Supporter ♡

#1: Post by DucaiMann »

Hi All,

I have been doing extensive research trying to figure out the most cost effective way to plumb in a commercial machine in my apartment. This will NOT work for everyone, but I have spoken with many different people in different professions about this and would like to share what I have (or have not) found.

First of all, I AM NOT AN EXPERT AT ANYTHING. I am NOT an engineer or a scientist or a plumber. I like fixing things and learning how things work.

My first quest was to figure out how to plumb the machine to the water line that was feeding to the refrigerator with a 1/4" tube. To solve that, a couple trips to Home Depot (the first time they sold me an NPT (national pipe thread or compression) threaded connection, not an FIP (Female Iron Pipe)), and I had a dual outlet connection. I also had to pick up a female to male adapter also in FIP.

http://www.homedepot.com/p/BrassCraft-1 ... /202047047

With this plumbed in, I could now connect the original refrigerator line and still have a 3/8" line going to the espresso machine.

Home Depot only seems to sell John Guest fittings in FIP or MIP which makes no sense to me but it is what it is. I got an adapter so that I could fit the John Guest fitting to the new valve and put 3/8" line on it.
15 feet of polyurethene hose, a John Guest shut-off valve, and another John Fitting to the espresso machine and you have water!

Now, obviously I skipped a couple important steps. A water filter IS A MUST. This is not optional if you want to keep scale and other harmful chemicals out of your machine.

3M sells some fantastic products for this and since I wanted to make sure scale was being removed with 3/8" fittings, I picked up this:

http://www.amazon.com/Aqua-Pure-AP510-K ... B00069DVI8