PID temperature offset setting for Quickmill Vetrano 2B

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
ruthlessaz

#1: Post by ruthlessaz »

Hi all,

Quick question about Pid for Vetrano 2b. The default pid setting for temperature offset is 27 degrees( which is what CCS set it at)

I have read posts and have seen people change the offset.

My question is this: Why would someone want to change the default PID temperature offset? Shouldn't the default be correct?

Let's say the offset is 27 degrees from boiler to puck...why would someone want to change offset temp other than to confuse themselves lol.

I am not an expert, but this parameter seems to be one that should be left alone, no?

I welcome insight from fellow home baristas!

spearfish25

#2: Post by spearfish25 »

Every machine could be slightly different as are the rooms we use them in. People who change the settings often have other ways of measuring temperatures (Scace device) to get more accurate temperatures and settings for their machine and environment.

Advertisement
Beans2Machines

#3: Post by Beans2Machines »

You could also use a simple Digital Thermometer with a thermocouple to roughly read the brew water temperature and adjust the offset.

brianl

#4: Post by brianl »

spearfish25 wrote:Every machine could be slightly different as are the rooms we use them in. People who change the settings often have other ways of measuring temperatures (Scace device) to get more accurate temperatures and settings for their machine and environment.
This. At the end of the day the number doesn't matter as you're either going to increase or decrease it based on taste.

Additionally, it also depends on how you use the machine. I believe chris stated that they don't do a warm up flush. This means that if you do multiple shots in one session any subsequent shots will be too hot (at least over the set temp).

mlindey

#5: Post by mlindey »