Over my head wearing a weight belt: Brugnetti Simona Top rebuild

Equipment doesn't work? Troubleshooting? If you're handy, members can help.
Glenn T

#1: Post by Glenn T »

I saw what looked like a great deal on ebay for a used/broken Brugnetti Simona Top. Having studied The Brugnetti Simona Project, I thought I was all set! Granted, I've never rebuilt an espresso machine before, but I had a well-documented guide along with American tech & parts support.

Famous last words, "I'm an engineer. I should be able to figure this out!" Granted, I knew I was in over my head, but I trusted the life guards to throw me a line if I thrashed around too much.

Unfortunately, I did not count on Brugnetti CLOSING their American subsidiary. In engineering terms, this is what's known as an "Ah sh__!" moment. All projects have "Ah sh__" moments, and that's why we use safety factors and contingencies. I just never expected mine to hit before the project even started! Rather than simply being in over my head and being forced to sink or swim, I'm in over my head wearing a weight belt!

I expect to receive the machine on Tuesday. Despite looking for the past week, I have failed to find a copy of the manual. Brugnetti Italy referred me to Viazza Coffee, who happens to occupy the same address as the old Brugnetti USA. When asked for product documentation and parts availability for the Simona Top, I got this reply:
We are sorry to inform you that we do not sell the Brugnetti Simona home espresso. We sell only the commercial Brugnetti machines. Also - to our knowledge - no Simona has been sold in the US since 2001. As this machine is out of production it will not be easy to find parts for it.
With best regards,
Viazza Coffee, LLC
John Vintage
Does anybody have a lead on an electronic copy of the manual for the Brugnetti Simona Top? I sent a message to jamhat, the guy who did the last rebuild, but he hasn't posted on the site for 1-1/2 years!