Notes on Profitec Pro 700 use (by an engineer)

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
mbrown205

#1: Post by mbrown205 »

This is not a review, rather I will post my impressions of, pros, cons, ergonometric issues, questions, etc. for the Profitec 700. I am an engineer so some of my notes are rather nit-picky. Feel free to agree or disagree, we all see the world differently.

I will start with the pros as they are easy and fairly standard, and over the next days or weeks(?) add other sections of my notes. These are my personal notes, yours might vary, and yes, I am a newbie to this board. However I have brewed espresso for 10+ years on my own and my friends machines, so I have at least some perspective from which to make these notes. Again, this is not a review and is not comprehensive or exhaustive. For instance I don't bother measuring brew recovery times and temperatures of repeated pulls because that is not an issue for me personally with home use. I putz around a lot between cups so the unit has plenty of time to recover. I'm not trying to convince anyone of anything, just sharing my own findings. If you have any questions ask and I will answer as best I can.

Unit: Profitec 700
Vendor: Whole Latte Love

Things I Like (Quite Subjective):

1. The machine is forgiving and very easy to dial in. Espresso tastes subjectively better than other machines I've had. No one in my family goes to Starbucks any more, they just want me to make their coffee. It's about as good as other prosumer machines. It extracts lots of coffee oils. It makes lots of Crema. Easy to get a 25 second pull at 1.5 oz unless I'm just changing coffees of course. Works best with fresh-ground custom-grind coffees. It is harder to dial in some preground coffees, like Lavazza Decaf. Note, I have a good grinder which also helps in dialing in.