Non E61 options

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
BruceB

#1: Post by BruceB »

So as I get more time and read around various threads I've seen that there may be options other than the E61 group head which could provide the same quality or possibly better, given that the E61 is a relatively old if very well proven and accepted solution for the grouphead.

Unless there is a thread similar to this I would be interested in knowing the relative merits and demerits of each the price bracket the sit in.

as I've mentioned in another post I'm very new to this so I'm trying to build up my knowledge. Though in all honesty whilst I'm looking at buying the likes of the Silvia I'm still interested in learning what else is out there.
It's all in the grind, Sizemore. Can't be too fine, can't be too coarse. This, my friend, is a science.
Grimes - Black Hawk Down

clumeng

#2: Post by clumeng »

BruceB wrote: Unless there is a thread similair to this I would be interested in knowing the relative merits and demerits of each the price bracket the sit in.
I'm not sure what you mean by this. You might get more of a response if you post this question in the "espresso machines" forum.

That being said E61 is just the format of the group. I think that you may be really wanting to know the options besides heat exchangers in espresso. Most HX machines have the E61 format. The three general classes are single boiler, heat exchanger, and double boiler..these describe the internals of the machine primarily and how heated water is produced to brew and control the temp.

Most entry level espresso machines are single boiler (Gaggia Classic, Silvia) which have very good temperature control in general. Add a PID and you can be really in business with temp stability.