Newbie help with breville oracle

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
Moony1234

#1: Post by Moony1234 »

Hi all,

First of all great forums, I've done a fair bit of reading and learnt some but also left with questions after reading some of the more advanced posts!

Please forgive me first of all I am a newbie. I've made the step from a basic bean-to-cup to the breville oracle.

I understand and accept I will likely need to do a fair amount of tweaking but hoping someone can give me a good starting point as I'm starting to get frustrated.

The best I've got so far is coffee starting to flow at 7 seconds (although it is dark black for the first few seconds) total shot time including pre infusion is 24 seconds. It is bitter and rancid.

Also when I remove he PF after use more water/coffee flows from it, which inevitably goes all over the kitchen floor.

The flow also seems a bit too watery but I've got it on 33 for grind setting...

Not sure if I should start fiddling with advanced settings on this machine or try to get it right using grind setting and flow time first?

Thanks in advance!

jsargevt

#2: Post by jsargevt »

Hi,

I just picked up an Oracle as well. I am coming off a superauto so I am new to adjusting the parameters. I would steer clear of the advanced settings until you get a few shots that are good to you. For now, grind is going to be the thing that you should focus on and then from there you can tweak the rest of it.

Please note that i have about 10 minutes of experience here and there are many, many people on this board with years of experience. I am going to assume that they will correct me if I'm way out in left field.