New Rocket Cellini Owner

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
mccanale

#1: Post by mccanale »

Please bear with me - I am new to the world of brewing my own espresso. We got a good deal on an open box Cellini Evoluzione and decided to take the plunge. I have a few questions I am hoping the board might be able to help me sort out:

1) When I brew I am consistently getting a 9.5 bar extraction, I read that 9 bars is ideal - should this be adjusted on the Rocket? I have searched a little and see it is common for a Rocket to be set at 9.5 so this may not be a big deal, just want to make sure I am not missing something.

2) I am using a Breville Smart Grinder - the grinder will only go down to about halfway on the espresso grind meter, anything lower an no coffee comes out of the machine while I grind. In addition, as I move the grinds finer I have noticed that the Rocket is not able to brew (no coffee pours out of the portafilter) - does this mean the grind is too fine? I may need to return/exchange the Breville Grinder but I want to know if you have any tips on these issues/observations. Also, I am using La Colombia Nizza beans.

3) Finally, I am getting wet pucks. I have cleaned the Rocket using cafiza tablets and the pucks are still watery (or is some water to be expected?).

Thats all - really excited to learn all there is to using this machine.

HB
Admin

#2: Post by HB »

mccanale wrote:When I brew I am consistently getting a 9.5 bar extraction...
Close enough (especially considering the gauges aren't that accurate).
mccanale wrote:...as I move the grinds finer I have noticed that the Rocket is not able to brew - does this mean the grind is too fine?
Yes. I haven't used that particular model, but Is Breville Smart Grinder any good for espresso? isn't encouraging. What you describe is commonly known as a "choked" extraction; the solution is grinding coarser.