New owner of Cimbali Junior Casa DT1 with setup problem

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
rockrimmon

#1: Post by rockrimmon »

Hello:

I am new to the site but have been reading posts here for almost a year. Finally pulled the trigger a few weeks ago and purchased a La Cimbali M21 Junior Casa DT1 from Chris's Coffee and a new Mazzer Mini E. The unit arrived and I got it all connected and ready to use. I did most of the install myself but did have a plumber connect the drain and water supply under the sink. As a barisa I am more than clueless and yet to make my first shot (sink or otherwise) of Espresso. But I am an engineer by trade and generally can make things work.

My issue is this:

1. I followed the directions in the La Cimbali manual and am in the "lets turn it on and see if it makes steam" part of my install process. I turned on the Main Switch (which is under the front of the machine at the center) and stood back.

2. Per the manual the water level in the boiler was low (as it was brand new) and the Boiler Level light blinked for a bit until it filled up. The "Machine On" LED blinked as it should on the front of the machine indicating it was heating. The manual says it could take as long as 90 minutes for the light to stop blinking, which would then indicate that I am ready to use it.

Problem: After almost 2 hours my light continued to blink. I turned the machine off.

Symptoms which see irregular to me, but I really don't know:

1. The Boiler Level light came on several more times after it initially filled and I could hear water being drawn in. Despite the fact that I had not done anything, i.e. I had not consumed any water of any kind it seemed the boiler was asking for more water.

2. The machine makes a LOT of noise. Like an overheated radiator. It was hissing steam all over the place. I can't imagine sleeping in the morning if this is the normal noise.