Leaking Expobar Brewtus trips GFI

Equipment doesn't work? Troubleshooting? If you're handy, members can help.
Frogboy

#1: Post by Frogboy »

Hi there!

First time poster here!

I have a Expobar Brewtus III that's been tripping the gfi. So I opened it up and see there's a lot of water leakage and corrosion around what looks like a brazed joint. I don't think he leak is coming from the water connector itself.

Here's a pic:

I am not sure the best way to fix this. Any suggestions?

Thanks!

OzarkTroutBum

#2: Post by OzarkTroutBum »

I am FAR from an expert and am only getting started but first thing I would do is try to get that cleaned up. Looks from the pic like scale buildup.

If it is scale, I'd start with a mix of a stout descale mix and a small wire brush and see if I could remove it. On the outside of the boiler I would probably go with a product called CLR from Jelmar (calcim, lime, rust remover) but never on the inside. Spray a little on and give it time to react and then expose a little more with the brush and reapply and take it down in layers. Don't mix with bleach or anything else as it is an acid and may react.

Another thing I would do is to mix a dish soap and water mix and power the boiler up and apply that in small amounts with a brush on the fitting above and look for any bubbling as it heats up. This might help locate the actual leak before you go any further. The leak could be in the fitting above but not calcifying until it hits the heat from the boiler. If its not in the fittings then you can apply the soap mix after you've cleaned the area to check for pinholes in the solder joint.

Good luck!!

Randy G.

#3: Post by Randy G. »