Large temperature swing after shot on Expobar Office Leva Plus?

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
jasonburk

#1: Post by jasonburk »

Let me preface this by saying that I'm completely new to higher-end espresso machines, having recently upgraded from a cheap DeLonghi EC-155.

I purchased an Expobar Office Leva Plus from WholeLatteLove a few weeks back, in search of thermal consistency and better control over the brew process altogether. Additionally, I purchased a thermometer for exposed E-61 brew-heads from chriscoffee.com, to ensure that the machine was meeting my temp requirements.

When its at optimal idle temperature (~190°+), it elevates to 202°+ once I engage the lever and pulls a good shot. My problem is that it doesn't seem to maintain that optimal idle temp after the shot has completed. After I pull a shot, it drops from 200°+ to 130-140° (maybe even lower) and resides there for a long time.

I can get it back up to temp by purging several ounces of water a couple times, or shutting off the machine and restarting. Either way, I have to wait 20-30min for the boiler to get back up to ideal temperature for brewing. It's a waste of time & water.

I see the red light on the face of the machine illuminate several times a minute, indicating that the heating element has kicked on. The temp climbs quickly every time I take a shot, regardless of the starting point - so the boiler/heating element obviously works. Boiler pressure gauge reads between .8 and 1 (pre-configured by WLL), always.

Does anyone know what could be causing this huge temp swing? This isn't normal, is it?

Thanks.

erics
Supporter ★

#2: Post by erics »

Your machine is experiencing a thermosyphon system stall. After a 1 hour warm up, what does the thermometer read with the machine at idle?