La Pavoni 2 group restoration

Equipment doesn't work? Troubleshooting? If you're handy, members can help.
potluck

#1: Post by potluck »

Hi
I came across a 2007 La Pavoni Bar T 2V. My intentions were to descale, familiarize and replace o-rings and like, but that didn't happen. Basically everything is apart except for frame and a few attachments. By far, I am no expert. Therefore, I would like to post my progress and ask question as I go along, so in the end, I could enjoy a shot. I am open to all advise and input and it would be very much appreciated. I have no history of this machine nor do I know what works or not. It did have some water in the boiler. I will post some Pic as soon as I figure how. Thanks to HB help, here are some Pics

It looks pretty clean on the outside. The inside didn't look that bad compared to some Pics I have seen, but you can be the judge of that. To get you caught up to where I am at I will post a lot of pics. Well Here is the insides taken apart.

Group heads The one I have is with the M6 screw

Group heads taken apart pretty cruddy

Scaling going on in the back end of the group heads and that silver bottom tray is rusting up some there on the right. Any suggestion for the tray other than powder coat.
Since it is on the inside, I was thinking of just priming it and spray painting with high tempt primer/paint.

Taken Pics to remember line path and connections

I numbered and labeled wire connections

Looks like the heating element seal has been compromised

After the removal of the heating element the O Ring was brittle / dry rotted

I read you can use vinegar / citric acid to remove calcium buildup so I tried both It seemed to me that the citric acid may have worked better but not a noticeable difference. I started to get into the nice and shiny outside thing loss focus of objective descaling and cleaning. So after getting back on track I purchased Cafizia detergent to remove coffee oil and various tube size scrubbing brushes.