La Marzocco - Linea - PID Question - Page 4

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
Billc
Posts: 274
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2009 10:51 am
Real Name: Bill Crossland
Equipment: GS1 - GS3 - GB5 - CC1
Location: Seattle, Washington 98115

Postby Billc » Wed Sep 28, 2011 3:04 pm

The display is only a reference. However, on my GS3 I run the machine for a minute or so while measuring temperature. When it stabilizes I define this temperature as the boiler temperature. Then I change my offset so my display matches this temperature.

BillC

User avatar
Euology101
Posts: 151
Joined: Fri Feb 25, 2011 9:42 pm
Real Name: Justin
Equipment: GS/3 MP, Mazzer Major-E
Location: New York, New York

Postby Euology101 » Wed Sep 28, 2011 10:07 pm

Billc wrote:The display is only a reference. However, on my GS3 I run the machine for a minute or so while measuring temperature. When it stabilizes I define this temperature as the boiler temperature. Then I change my offset so my display matches this temperature.

BillC


Bill,

I have to tell you, 3 pages of great, and valuable information, and you answered me entire question/questions with one single paragraph. THIS is exactly what I was looking for. I went home tonight, reset my offset values, turned set the SV @ 205f and walked away for an hour. Came back, put some coffee in the PF, put my Thermocouple over the lip, and let it run. At about 45 seconds in it was +-.3 of 200f and it held that +- continually.

I've read threads until my eyes are nearly bloody, but seriously, this one piece of info, has put me in a place, where I can now feel confident to put the rest of research to practice. So, Thank you.

:mrgreen: :mrgreen:
Justin

customized for espresso aficionados
Billc
Posts: 274
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2009 10:51 am
Real Name: Bill Crossland
Equipment: GS1 - GS3 - GB5 - CC1
Location: Seattle, Washington 98115

Postby Billc » Thu Sep 29, 2011 10:40 pm

Justin,
You just made my nght.

BillC

mitch236
Posts: 1195
Joined: Wed Jul 21, 2010 8:26 am
Real Name: Mitch
Equipment: Strada EP, Robur-E
Location: Florida

Postby mitch236 » Fri Sep 30, 2011 2:15 pm

I also reset my PID last night. But I am using the POFF variable to provide offset function. It seems correct. Are you setting the SV offset? I've left mine at 0.

mitch236
Posts: 1195
Joined: Wed Jul 21, 2010 8:26 am
Real Name: Mitch
Equipment: Strada EP, Robur-E
Location: Florida

Postby mitch236 » Fri Sep 30, 2011 2:17 pm

Oh and thanks Bill!! I found my offset prevviously ran my machine about 1.5 degrees hot which corresponds to me having to set my temps cooler than recommended.

User avatar
Euology101
Posts: 151
Joined: Fri Feb 25, 2011 9:42 pm
Real Name: Justin
Equipment: GS/3 MP, Mazzer Major-E
Location: New York, New York

Postby Euology101 » Fri Sep 30, 2011 3:05 pm

mitch236 wrote:I also reset my PID last night. But I am using the POFF variable to provide offset function. It seems correct. Are you setting the SV offset? I've left mine at 0.


Mitch,

I'm the same as you:
SV-OFF= 0
PV-OFF= I have mine at -5F
This gives me 203F at the boiler when I set it at 198F.

I just found a V1 Scace on CG, which is being shipped to me today, I will hopefully get a chance to accurately test this more once that arrives, but I feel 100% better now that I used Bill's comments to find the correct offset. Once I get the Scace I plan on first testing the offset again, so I can hopefully set it closer to +-.3 degrees kinda thing, and then spending some time with flushing from idle to see what is required.

-Justin

mitch236
Posts: 1195
Joined: Wed Jul 21, 2010 8:26 am
Real Name: Mitch
Equipment: Strada EP, Robur-E
Location: Florida

Postby mitch236 » Fri Sep 30, 2011 7:03 pm

While I still need to experiment with my new settings, I've found a six second open flush before pulling the shot works best for my 2003 machine (welded neck).

let us help you find the right gear
User avatar
Euology101
Posts: 151
Joined: Fri Feb 25, 2011 9:42 pm
Real Name: Justin
Equipment: GS/3 MP, Mazzer Major-E
Location: New York, New York

Postby Euology101 » Fri Sep 30, 2011 8:05 pm

mitch236 wrote:While I still need to experiment with my new settings, I've found a six second open flush before pulling the shot works best for my 2003 machine (welded neck).


Yeah, your welded plus its a Single group(?) EE correct? Which means no AV lines to flush. I've been finding a good 30 second flush, then go do my grinding, and get things ready, then a quick 6 second pull to warm the cup, and I'm in range, but again, not tested with a scace yet, for all I know I'm overshooting, or possibly under...

mitch236
Posts: 1195
Joined: Wed Jul 21, 2010 8:26 am
Real Name: Mitch
Equipment: Strada EP, Robur-E
Location: Florida

Postby mitch236 » Sun Oct 02, 2011 8:15 pm

It's an AV but because it's a single group, the flowmeter is before the boiler so doesn't cause any temp problems. But that doesn't matter now anyway because I replaced the old cap with the piero cap which gets rid of the flowmeter loop as well as relocating the three way valve to the cap so the banjo bolt and the associated plumbing has been removed leading to much better temperature stability. If you have the two group AV, the piero mod would help your temperature stability more than it did mine.

User avatar
Euology101
Posts: 151
Joined: Fri Feb 25, 2011 9:42 pm
Real Name: Justin
Equipment: GS/3 MP, Mazzer Major-E
Location: New York, New York

Postby Euology101 » Sun Oct 02, 2011 9:12 pm

mitch236 wrote:It's an AV but because it's a single group, the flowmeter is before the boiler so doesn't cause any temp problems. But that doesn't matter now anyway because I replaced the old cap with the piero cap which gets rid of the flowmeter loop as well as relocating the three way valve to the cap so the banjo bolt and the associated plumbing has been removed leading to much better temperature stability. If you have the two group AV, the piero mod would help your temperature stability more than it did mine.


Yeah, but unfortunately it will not work unless I modify the Group heads themselves, due to it being a bolt on version. As much as that sounds fun.... I think I'd sooner sell it, and either buy a single group Linea, or a GS3, I don't really have a good reason to have a 2 group machine.