La Cimbali M28 Restoration - Working Yeah :)

Equipment doesn't work? Troubleshooting? If you're handy, members can help.
BarendB

#1: Post by BarendB »

Hi HB'rs

I'm new to HB, and this weekend I became the owner of a sick little La Cimbali M28 Select over the weekend, I picked up the machine for rather cheap as it's motherboard is fried (literately, smoke is coming out of the IC's).

What I'm going to attempt is to fix the motherboard and attempt restore the machine. But as I've never attempted to fix an Espresso Machine before I have a few questions.

I could not turn this machine on, due to the fried motherboard.

1. How can I test/inspect the motor / pump is working fine? Without the motherboard.
2. The previous owner of the machine did say the pump is a little noisy and might need a descale, any tips suggestions, resources I can look at regards to that process.
3. If I where to say convert this machine into a manual machine (run without flow meters), has any one attempted such task, any resources available?

Cheerio,
Barend

gor-l

#2: Post by gor-l »

Barend,
You should be able to check the motor by running it directly from mains power. Even in a three-phase machine, the motor should be single phase. Check all voltages etc before you do, and if you are in any doubt about rigging up a temporary switch etc. get help.

There is lots about descaling pumps on this site.

Converting to manual would involve replacing the conrtol circuitry with something that can switch your solenoids and activate the pump simultaneously. Basic logic and a contactor might well do. Or perhaps an Arduino/Pi project?
Check the voltage of the solenoids too. You might need to swap them for mains voltage versions..

Alternatively, get hold or the circuit diagram for any similar cimbali machine and make a direct copy.

Does your machine have auto-fill? that would have been controlled by the motherboard.