La Cimbali Junior pump runs continuously when power is on

Equipment doesn't work? Troubleshooting? If you're handy, members can help.
tamhai

#1: Post by tamhai »

Short version:
I have an older la cimbali jr. It's an automatic. The pump now comes on immediately when the machine is powered on and water runs out of the group head. This followed a descaling and a trip to the repair shop to fix a short. Repair guy was stumped and had no idea why it started run on it's own constantly. It can only be powered on when plugged in to a non gfci oulet. It trips a gfci outlet. Searching around online I found others with this issue where it was suggested to be a stuck solenoid or a brain issue. Any other suggestions? Because of the gfci thing I'm suspecting the more costly to fix brain box, but staying hopeful that a $50 solenoid can fix it up and I can drink coffee again!
If anyone would like the long version for more info let me know. I didn't want to write a book for my first post. :)

ira
Team HB

#2: Post by ira »

Start by finding the problem that's setting off the GFI. If you've got a good ohmmeter, pull the plug, turn the machine figure out which side is connected to ground and attach it to those leads and start pulling connections till the short goes away It might be a very high resistance connection and some meters might not be able to see it. Try the heater to start as that's the most likely problem. And remember you might need to pull all the leads to a device before the short goes away. If it was me, I'd do things in this order:

Boiler
Motor
Solenoids
Switches
Brain

Take pictures before you start so you can put it back together.

The motor should be controlled by the brain box, so you need to figure out why the brain box is commanding it to be on. A disconnected water level sensor would do that and I guess a badly installed switch panel or a bad brain box.

Ira

Advertisement
jpboyt

#3: Post by jpboyt »

Hello,