Isomac Millenium... Steam boiler pressure while idling

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
Jsub

#1: Post by Jsub »

Hi all!

I have been lurking around for a while and i hope my first post was under different circumstances! Possibly with your expertise i will be posting about less agonizing stuff in the future.

To the point; I bought a used Isomac Millenium a few days ago and i think what i experience is not a normal behavior (i'm new to HX machines so i am not sure)

As you can see in the video below the boiler pressure seems to cycle too fast in my belief. It maxes out at 1.3bars and then starts going down immediately. Min pressure is around 1.1 when the heating element kicks in again. This goes on forever. In the video the machine was on for 40min already.

I assume that this should not be the case when the machine is idling and the pressure should be relatively constant around 1.3bars. Isn't that so?
/John

vit

#2: Post by vit »

Well, I don't own this machine or any machine with pressure gauge, but it's normal unless you have a PID.
You can hear thermostat switching on at 1.1 bar, which is around 122°C, and switching off at 1.25 bar, which is around 124°C, then the pressure rises to 1.3 as the heater is still hot, so water warms up slightly more, and then gradually cools down until next heating cycle

Advertisement
Alan Frew

#3: Post by Alan Frew »

Leaky anti-vacuum valve. Change the o-ring.

Alan

Jsub (original poster)

#4: Post by Jsub (original poster) »

Hi Alan.

I don't think this is the case here. The anti-vacuum valve doesn't hiss at all (after a few seconds of the initial startup).
I tried the chrome spoon method on the anti-vacuum valve and i can't see any fogging. Here's how the setup looks like (mind that in the picture the machines is cold so the valve is not at its' "high" position) :