Inconsistent microfoam from Quick Mill Silvano - suggestions?

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
Tpol

#1: Post by Tpol »

After about a year, I'm generally quite happy with my Silvano. Of course, I'm comparing it with my previous machine--an Ascaso Dream--from which this is a clear step up. Its consistency in enabling the production of quality shots is very good.

However, where I'm not so happy is with its milk-texturing capabilities. I'd say I get very good microfoam about 40% of the time, with the rest of the time it being just average. I fully admit that this can very well be my skill, or lack thereof, to blame. But I've been doing this for a few years now, and a good friend who has the same machine has a similar experience. We've actually found the Dream, with the froth aid removed, to be more consistent than the Silvano. Just when I think I've finally gotten the right technique down, I get large bubbles and little to no vortex the next day. It's somewhat maddening.

Have others had more luck getting good foam every time on the Silvano?

sgmonkey

#2: Post by sgmonkey »

Thought I'd try to resurrect this since I'm very close to snagging a Silvano...

May I ask if the inconsistency of the steaming is while pulling a shot at the same time or separately?

sgmonkey

#3: Post by sgmonkey »

Also, has anyone done a replacement wand for the Silvano? Does the below no burn wand work?

http://www.seattlecoffeegear.com/no-burrs ... quick-mill

VeniaCoffee

#4: Post by VeniaCoffee »

Tpol wrote:After about a year, I'm generally quite happy with my Silvano. Of course, I'm comparing it with my previous machine--an Ascaso Dream--from which this is a clear step up. Its consistency in enabling the production of quality shots is very good.