How to salvage the wire connections of this ancient Ulka Pump (NH26)?

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
samuellaw178
Supporter ♡

#1: Post by samuellaw178 »

Long story short, I got an old La Cimbali Junior S/1 and it looked to be in decent condition. Only problem is the pump doesn't work.

So I tried to disassemble the Ulka Pump for checking the resistance/continuity. There're two red wires from the pump that go to the complicated wire nest(under drip tray), so I figure I don't want to mess there. The connection on the Ulka end looked like a spade connector so I tried pulling. Idiotically,turned out those are not spade connectors and I pulled out the wires which seem to be secured by some paste/glue. :oops:

Any idea if it's still salvageable at this stage? I can't seem to open into the solenoid.

Anyone has experience on this?

This is as far as I can reach so far

Thanks. :P

LukeFlynn

#2: Post by LukeFlynn »

Vibratory pumps are dirt cheap, I would rather just pay $30-50 to get a brand new pump than mess with an ancient pump. I'd say others will agree with me, considering it's rare to do maintenance on a vibratory, they are just dirt cheap.

OldNuc

#3: Post by OldNuc »

As the 1/4" F connector has burned off I would suspect the coil has at least partially shorted. New pump time has arrived.

samuellaw178 (original poster)
Supporter ♡

#4: Post by samuellaw178 (original poster) replying to OldNuc »

Crap... :P

It's not about the cost, but the waiting time & my short patience. It's weekend today and Christmas is approaching. It'll be a week or more before I get the pump if I order now.

Also, another reason was this older pump seems more ruggardly built than the plasticky new version. I was hoping this one may be more quiet - usually the older stuff are built better.
Which is the 1/4" connector you refer to? :oops:

cuppajoe

#5: Post by cuppajoe »