High pressure water squirting out of Saeco Aroma

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
g.Narly

#1: Post by g.Narly »

Hi all,

I'm a newbie to this wild world of high-end coffee (I've had a steam-only Krups w/blade grinder for the last 5 years). I recently saw Alton Brown's Good Eats and decided to upgrade. I pretty much purchased what he used on the show... the Saeco Aroma and Gaggia MDF.

I'm having some issues.

I ground the beans to what I thought look good, tampered them to 30lbs, primed the pump using the manufacturer's instructions and let 'er rip. The shot came out in about 10-12 seconds but I think it had a nice crema (second guessing due to it's pressurized pf but it looked like Alton's) and it tasted okay (it's an upgrade at least). I then removed the pf and saw that the puck was not a puck but a gooey mass with a thin layer of water on top. I repeated this several times with the same results. I then just ran the espresso without the pf and saw a streaming jet come out of the center holes in the machine (picture included).

The unit was a refurbished item and I'm wondering if it just needs to be cleaned or returned. Or if this is normal. If it is, then I don't know why the goo and why are the shots so short.

Please help.

Thanks,
Brian

Advertisement
g.Narly (original poster)

#2: Post by g.Narly (original poster) »

Okay, an update to my "issue".

I just got off the phone with Saeco Tech Support and they informed me that this is normal for this model. I'm still having a hard time swallowing this response due to the gooey, watery grounds and 10 second pulls.

Does anyone around here have the same machine? If so, how does yours perform? Any information would help.

Thanks,
Brian

#3: Post by g.Narly (original poster) »

Another update... (I used to work in Tech Support for a software company)