HELP!! Rocket Giotto V2 Problems

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
Brandon8790

#1: Post by Brandon8790 »

Good morning,

I am new to home-barista and the whole home espresso itself. I have a coworker who recently cleaned out a friend's rental home, he removed a Rocket Giotto V2 (Mid-2012) and a Mazzer Mini grinder. He said the steam function wasn't working when he brought the machine home but he flipped the O-ring around on the vacuum breaker valve and it seemed to work. He asked me to sell it on EBay for him, however my wife has been wanting a machine and I thought this would be a good way to get her one for a little cheaper.

I brought the machine home and decided to plug it up and see if it was working properly. The machine would not hold steam pressure very well. I could turn the steam wand on twice and the pressure would build back up then drop to zero and not come back up. I was not sure of the problem but thought it would not hurt to descale the machine. I descaled the machine using Durgol Espresso Machine Decalcifier. I tilted the machine to 45 degrees to overfill the broiler like I had read in a few places online. After letting it sit for a couple hours I turned the machine on. It seemed like it had a difficult time coming on and was not heating up properly. The machine flipped the breaker in a GFCI outlet I had in my kitchen and seemed to have burnt the tip of one of the wires on top of the broiler. Now when I turn the machine on I can hear a click but nothing seems to some on. I have only let it run for about 5 minutes before turning it back off so I don't mess anything else up.