Getting started with Brasilia Century espresso machine

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
MaryHen

#1: Post by MaryHen »

First off--I am completely new to espresso machines and new to using forums. We recently moved into a home that came with a beautiful Rosito Bisani espresso machine. It is a "Century" model. The owner said the machine works, but it just needs to be "serviced". I'm hoping this just means a good cleaning and de-scaling???? The machine is plumbed into the water source and drain. I know nothing about espresso, aside from ordering it occasionally--and nothing about the inner workings of an espresso machine. I would really love to learn how to use the machine and make espresso. I welcome any "getting started" tips you have to offer. Thanks

boar_d_laze

#2: Post by boar_d_laze »

Hi Mary,

Welcome to the madhouse.

Your machine is a Brasilia not a Bisani. Rosito Bisani is a retailer/service operation with a west-coast operation on La Brea, in the mid-Wilshire district, and not a manufacturer. It seems likely they sold the machine to the original owner, and that they should be your first call; (323) 937-1888.

No way to know what kind of service your machine needs without opening it up and looking. In addition to Brisani, because Brasilias were so popular here, there are probably quite a few good tech familiar with them in SoCal. At a guess, Dave at HiTech Espresso (located near Silverlake/Echo Park) is among them. If he does Brasilias, with the offer of ... oh I don't know, maybe ... money, he can be prevailed upon to make a house call; (877) 286-2833.

In addition to the pros, there are any number of knowledgeable H-B members in SoCal who might be willing to visit. I'd offer but don't know enough about machine mechanics to really be of use. However, when you get to the basic "barista lessons" stage, let me know.