Gaggia Classic portafilter/basket - is this pressurised or not?

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
peloquin

#1: Post by peloquin »

Hi everyone, I'm a newbie in the quality coffee brewing scene, so I would very much appreciate your comments in a couple of questions I have. I got hold of a Gaggia Classic 8161/40 and I've been reading around with respects to the portafilter and basket that comes out of the box; I must admit I am very much confused as to whether mine is a pressurised one or not. I've taken a few shots of the portafilter/basket, can anyone advise me on what I've got?

Thank you!

AtlGator

#2: Post by AtlGator »

That's pressurized, the tiny hole and then the plastic insert are your tell-tale signs. You want to see if you have baskets with perforations throughout the bottom of the basket (and take out the plastic insert when using those).

Pressurized PFs let the masses make fake crema from crap beans. If you're poking around here, you probably want better...

bluesman

#3: Post by bluesman »

AtlGator wrote:Pressurized PFs let the masses make fake crema from crap beans.
Being completely honest, I've always believed the same thing. But as I read your post, I began to wonder how good it could be with properly ground good, fresh beans. Is it possible to make acceptable espresso if the only limitation is a pressurized PF?

Sadly ( :wink: ), I don't have one to play with. But being unable to enforce the admonition that friends don't let friends drink bad coffee, we have friends who do. I may drag my grinder and some beans around the neighborhood to see what's possible. Of course, that means I'd have to clean their machines first. Hmmm - maybe this isn't such a great idea after all. But if any of you got a pressurized PF in the box with one of your machines, you might give it a shot (no pun intended...) to see how much it compromises the product when everything else is right.

peloquin (original poster)