Gaggia Classic is spewing coffee

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
Laurence

#1: Post by Laurence »

I am new to espresso, so forgive dumb questions.
My Gaggia Classic is spewing coffee sideways all over the counter.
I just got the machine for my birthday. It came it three baskets. A double with a lot of holes a single with one hole and a double with a single hole. When I use either basket with a single hole, the machine spits coffee horizontally all over the counter. I called the store where my wife got it and they said "yea, that's just the nature of the beast; it has a lot of pressure; just use the basket with a lot of holes." When I do, I don't get any crema, even when I use the little plastic pressure insert with it. What am I doing wrong?

HB
Admin

#2: Post by HB »

The baskets with a single hole are called "pressurized" baskets. Alan explains their raisin d'être:
Alan Frew wrote:Pressurized portafilters and pressurized filter baskets come in many guises, but they basically have a single purpose: to allow the customer to get the appearance of acceptable crema from stale, poorly ground supermarket coffee.
You need fresh coffee, a good grinder, and an evening with the Newbie Introduction to Espresso.
Dan Kehn

cmin

#3: Post by cmin »

From your profile, you have the Rocky grinder. I don't know why but this is the 3rd or 4th thread this past week with someone starting out and with a Rocky grinder. Rocky is a poor grinder for espresso and will cause nothing but frustration. But what beans are you using and how fresh are they? Generally the Gaggia Classic comes with OPV set too high, it needs to be adjusted down to the 9 bar range, I think they usually come around 12 which is too high.

edit - also sounds like that store doesn't know what their talking about lol

sweaner

#4: Post by sweaner »