Four group La Marzocco Linea AV rebuild - general questions

Equipment doesn't work? Troubleshooting? If you're handy, members can help.
AndrewJStewart

#1: Post by AndrewJStewart »

Hi Folks!

Long time lurker, deciding to join the party. I have to say that I absolutely enjoy this forum. I'm grateful that an extensive amount of resources exist for anyone willing to utilize them.

I'll preface my questions with a little history, if you're interested, otherwise skip this paragraph.
I hail from Rockford, Illinois and if you're familiar with the area you know that it's a little lackluster. That being said some buddies of mine (one of which I used to work with) have an up-and-coming roasting business. They're in the stage of moving out of a garage and into a small workspace. They've got a small two group astoria, which they hope to grow out of at some point. Being that I've got some background in art, design, and fabrication - and because I've wanted to do this for a while, we worked out that I'll get them a machine ready for when they grow into it. I synchronized some plans, and drove out to Colorado, where a machine waited. Through some research I figured out that the machine had been liquidated from Peabody Coffee, whom evidently went under due to Starbucks moving in/shady money business. The machine was cheap, and appeared to be in great shape.

Now here we are. I'm hoping to give you fellows an idea of my plans, hoping for constructive criticism, as well as ask deliberate questions at the end of my post.

I've taken all the paneling off, and soaked the parts, boilers, and groups in citric acid (I heard that acetic acid is more likely to do one over on the o-rings?).

There was honestly a minimal amount of scale. When I peaked in the boilers I saw some along the corners, as well as on the elements. The boilers don't appear to have any discoloration on the inside. I'll be brushing the outside on a bench grinder the next time I go into work.