Flow problem with gaggia baby

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
Jdturner

#1: Post by Jdturner »

I am a newbie with expression machines and recently purchased a gaggia baby through eBay. There is a flow problem but before I send it back I wanted to see if I could sort it out.

I have check for the air lock and taken off the shower screen, there was a fair bit of scale so I have descaled these.

I ran the pump, while the shower screen was off and the problem is further up the system. I took off the solenoid valve as I had read that this can get clogged if the unit has not bend descaled and sure enough it was. Cleaned that and ran again but I think it has clogged again. My guess here is that a load of scale has dislodged in transit and is clogging the system. So I am looking for some advice as to what to do, the descaling routine seems to reply on the unit pumping. Is there a way of cleaning the boiler with out running through the grouphead and is there a way of clearing blockages between the valve and group head exit hole.

Any suggestions would be greatly received.

Thanks
Justin

SJM

#2: Post by SJM »

Given how much scale you have found, your only real option is to open the boiler and manually descale it. Until you get what is in there cleaned up, it will continue to break loose and cause difficulties in the smaller parts, as you have already seen. This is the most common reason that Gaggias show up on eBay; new owners don't do any maintenance and then one day the machine just doesn't pump anymore. Lucky for us :-)))) given that the solution is pretty simple.

Jdturner (original poster)

#3: Post by Jdturner (original poster) »

Hi sjm

Thanks for the reply. I had a feeling that it would be something like that. I have never done that before. Do you know if there are any good instructions or a video explaining how to do this

On the plus side I am learning a lot about this machine, dying for a decent brew though.

Thanks