Floating water in portafilter after blank shot

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
jackietreehorn

#1: Post by jackietreehorn »

Hi everyone,

I got myself a Gaggia Classic and I am a total beginner. I have the machine since 2 weeks and recently I ordered a Mahlkonig Vario, I can't be happier. I have the following questions:

1- I pull a blank shot and wait like a minute. When I remove the PF, there is still a lot of water floating in the PF (With very little amount of coffee particles in it, but not much). When I take it out and bring over the sink, the water begins to flow out. Is this normal?

2- After every shot, I let some hot water run out while PF is removed. I notice that the water is flowing out slowly on some holes, and fast on others. See the video:
Is this normal?

thanks in advance for your answers

geoffbeier

#2: Post by geoffbeier »

Hello and welcome.
jackietreehorn wrote: 1- I pull a blank shot and wait like a minute. When I remove the PF, there is still a lot of water floating in the PF (With very little amount of coffee particles in it, but not much). When I take it out and bring over the sink, the water begins to flow out. Is this normal?
Yes. I don't know if I'd call it "a lot" but I typically see this. I just dump it in the drip tray rather than carrying it to the sink.
jackietreehorn wrote: 2- After every shot, I let some hot water run out while PF is removed. I notice that the water is flowing out slowly on some holes, and fast on others. See the video