Espresso machine not used for several months - recommended cleaning for boiler/reservoir?

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
Charlie97L

#1: Post by Charlie97L »

Hello!

So, I got a Bezzera BZ07 off of a forum member here, and it's been working great. I did have a slight question for the gurus here.

I'm a musician and out of town a lot. I had about 4 months where I was not really at home, nor using my machine.

I had asked my wife to turn it on every couple days for an hour or two if she ended up using it/left water in the tank.

What happened was that it ended up sitting with water in the reservoir, but not turned on, for about 3 months.

I'm sure that the actual machine is ok, and there doesn't seem to be any mold or mildew in the reservoir, but is there a recommended way I can clean everything out here, just to make sure?

Thanks!

HB
Admin

#2: Post by HB »

Advice about bringing an espresso machine out of storage? offers specific suggestions. Basically a good wash/rinse of the reservoir and the same procedure as descaling for the boiler/HX should eliminate any funk that accumulated while your espresso machine was idle.
Dan Kehn

Charlie97L (original poster)

#3: Post by Charlie97L (original poster) »

Thank you sir!

#4: Post by Charlie97L (original poster) »

I can't seem to parse a recommended descaling process in that thread.

It seems fine when I test it out. Can I just run some white vinegar through the system? Or is it more complicated than that? I have checked all the gaskets.

#5: Post by Charlie97L (original poster) »

Anyone? I'm hoping to get to this today.

I'm planning on diluting the vinegar to about half, then running it through all the systems, steam wand, spout, and group head, then doing a flush with water until the smell is gone.

Will that suffice?

Thanks!

iginfect

#6: Post by iginfect »

Don't use vinegar, you'll never get the taste out.

Marvin

#7: Post by Charlie97L (original poster) »